Big Changes, Custom Vegetable Garden Design and a Vegan Cooking Class!

hotbed 008

Having a nap in my quiet place!

Hello Everyone!

Long time no blog!  I hope that you have all been well. For us, it has been a nice quiet winter as our family has happily adjusted to it’s new addition: our beautiful baby boy, Arlo, who is settling in quite nicely. Becky and I would like to, once again, thank you all for your well-wishes and continued support.

BIG CHANGES

I have certainly missed communicating with all of you and am looking forward to the 2015 farming season. There are some big changes happening with One Love Farm. Some of these changes may come as a shock.  I have not been able to come to a reasonable lease agreement for the property you know as One Love Farm. This means that the farm stand will not be operating, nor will I be offering a veggie box program for the 2015 season.

I am, however, in the process of negotiating rental of the farm’s south field for one more season. This is necessary because I already have my garlic planted  in that location. If I succeed in securing this 1.5 acre field, I will plant some of your favourite vegetable crops to be offerred for sale at the Abbotsford Farm and Country Market. I am also working towards a longer term solution for future years.

CUSTOM ORGANIC VEGETABLE GARDEN DESIGN AND INSTALLATION

As well as my love of growing food for members of my community, I also have a strong desire to help others nurture that desire within themselves. Over the years I have done my best to empower others to grow their own vegetables. I now feel that it is time to move closer to that goal.  I will now be offering:

     -custom plant start pre-ordersOur pepper babies one month ago that have since grown into happy, healthy and sturdy plants.

     -vegetable garden design

     -vegetable garden installation

      -custom garden planning including         succession planting schedules

      -hands-on teaching of techniques for growing your own food

      -and much more! Please contact me for questions as to what I can offer      

Each individual will have unique requirements and I aim to work within your vision to create abundance and beauty in your yard! Keep an eye on my website as I design new programs based upon your input.

VEGAN COOKING CLASS: “A Family Vegan Holiday Sampling: not just for vegans”

And another very exciting project on the horizon!  Abbotsford Community Services has asked me to teach a vegan, gluten-free cooking class. Given my love for growing and preparing wholesome plant-based foods, I, of course, jumped at this opportunity.

Here’s the details:

When: Thursday Feb 19th 6:30pm-8:30pm or  Thursday Feb 26th 6:30pm-8:30pm.

There will only be 10 students per class so they have decided to offer two dates:  The classes will be  structured to allow some participation and the opportunity to share the meal at the end of  the session.

Who:  To register, please contact: megan.capp@abbotsfordcommunityservices.com.

What: the class will consist of five delicious vegan recipe basics that, combined, cab be used to create a holiday feast. The main course in this first class will be my, “from scratch,” stuffed TofuTurkee bites with mushroom miso gravy.

Why: With this recipe under your belt, you’ll sure to be a hit and navigate around at any pot-luck or family dinner. For those at a loss for vegan substitutions at family dinners, you will learn five go to recipes. And, I’ll do my best to make the class both informative and entertaining.

Where: Community Kitchen, Old Courthouse Building, Abbotsford Community Services,                    2420 Montrose Avenue.

Cost: an affordable $20, two-hour session

It is with great joy that I accept this opportunity for further involvement with my community.  Depending on the interest and success of this first class, they would like to run a series of classes throughout the year.

Again, to register for our limited spaces please contact: megan.capp@abbotsfordcommunityservices.com.

Much love to you all!

Farmer Chris

About One Love Farm

We are a small-scale organic farm, using sustainable farming methods, to grow a variety of heritage vegetables, herbs and edible flowers for local restaurants, markets and our road-side stand.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.